Reverberations 2010

December 4, 2010 § 3 Comments

 Reflect on the last year…in one word. 

Instinctively I came up with a few  but none that could truly encapsulate the year, there’s just been too much. 

Uncertain.  Provoking.  Transforming.

I’ve settled into “inspired/ing”.  The definitions relating most to how it applies are:   “inspiring – stimulating or exalting to the spirit” and ” inhaled: inspired air” because that’s what it feels like.

Two thousand and ten has been a year of significant personal growth and change,  it’s also been a year plagued with uncertainties that were terrifying and paralyzing at times; growing pains.

 I hadn’t realized how vacant from my life I’d become.  Snapping back was a slow and nauseating process, kind of like waking up with a wicked hangover.  It’s hard to find your bearings or appreciate the wake up call when your eyes haven’t adjusted to the light and you’re not sure if the ground is moving towards or away from you. 

A restlessness was how it started and a sence something wasn’t right, something I’d had in my life once was gone.  I knew I missed it terribly but I couldn’t recal what it was.  A dispute between where I was and where  I wanted to be was brewing.  The  journeys embarked upon by others acted as provocation (divorces and babies, travel and pianos), they excited  the controversy and stoked the embers of a dying flame.  Faced with unease, internal conflict and confusion I had no choice.  I had to change and embrace the flame because in it I knew I was alive and participating in this life.  The fire that’s ensued has inspired me to take a go at it without a safety net and I’ve been lurching forward without much grace ever since; it’s been enlightening, I’ve found my passion.

So the one word I want to manifest for the new year is “passion”.  I want to manifest this feeling of fire in my bones, I want it to spread over every part of my life.  I want to be brave and courageous and unwavering while inspiration continues to move me in this new direction.  

Reverb 10 seems to have come around right when I needed it, thanks Kerianne.  Since I can’t cook you dinner for all that you’ve done with the ocean between us I can at least give you the recipe you asked for.

Orange fennel Chicken, Adapted from About.com

  • 4-6 boneless skinless chicken breasts
  • 4 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 1/2 orange, zest and juice
  • 1  Tbsp kosher salt
  • 1 Tbsp dried Italian herb mix (oregano, basil, rosemary, marjoram, thyme)
  • 1 Tbsp paprika
  • 1 Tbsp fresh ground black pepper
  • 2 Tbsp fennel seed, cracked and crushed slightly.  I use a mortar and pestle but you could also do it with the flat of a knife.
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil

1.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees

2.  In a dish large enough for the chicken add the garlic, orange zest and juice, all the spices and the olive oil.  Mix it all together with a fork until well combined, it ends up a paste.    

3.  You’re going to have to use your hands for this.  Don’t be squeamish, it’s for a good cause.  Put the chicken in the dish one piece at a time rubbing the paste all over it.  Don’t panic if it doesn’t look like you’ve got enough paste, it packs a ton of flavour so you don’t need to cake it on.

 

5.  Cover the dish with all the chicken in it and refrigerate at least 4 hours, or overnight.

6.  In a large frying pan (see sidenote) over high heat add 1-2 Tbs olive oil, enough to lightly coat the pan.  When you’re sure it’s good and hot add the chicken.  Sear 3 minutes then flip it over.  Sear for 3 more minutes  then put the whole pan in the pre heated oven.

7.  Bake 15-20 minutes, until juices run clear.

8.  Place pan on the stove top and remove chicken, place it on a cutting board to rest.

9.  If you want a pan sauce you can add 1/2 to 3/4 cup of water and 1/2 a chicken bullion cube (if you’ve got one) to the hot pan and mix it all around over high heat scraping up all those yummy spicy bits off the bottom of the pan. (Don’t forget to use an oven mitt, best not to ask Shane about that).

10.  Slice chicken and spoon on sauce.

11.  Say “Mmmmmmm”

  

Sidenote:  your frying pan needs to be big enough to hold all the chicken without crowding it and have NO PLASTIC parts so it can go in the oven.  If you don’t have a large enough pan or you don’t have one without any plastic you’ll have to sear the chicken in batches and then transfer it to a cookie sheet before putting it in the oven.

We’ve always done  this chicken on the barbecue but Kerianne asked if  it would work in a frying pan so I gave it a try.  

Verdict:  I actually liked it better cooked this way, it seemed way juicier to me.  Shane wasn’t completely sure, but he’s biased since  he usually does the grilling.

§ 3 Responses to Reverberations 2010

  • Corey says:

    YUM! Im not much of a recipe kinda girl, but that orange fennel chicken sounds amazing! And I have just the right frying pan for the job 🙂 Keep up the good work.

    p.s. have you thought about tamales?

    • laticiaw says:

      Turns out I’m not much of a recipe kinda girl either. I have countless photos of things I’ve cooked but can’t post about because I didn’t follow a recipe or I abandoned writing down the measurements of what I used, still a work in progress. The only time I tend to follow a recipe is when I’m cooking something for the first time, and even then (you may have noticed) I deviate.

      I’ve not only been thinking about tamales but obsessing about Mexican food in general, it’s kinda what I do, obsess about food. I’m thinking about working my way up to the tamale starting with a red enchilada sauce, maybe. Stay tuned, something about this cold weather has me itching for some spice.

  • […] –  Fennel Chicken […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Reverberations 2010 at 4 the love of lemons.

meta

